top of page
Blog: Blog2
Blog: Subscribe
Search

Book 1, Chapter XVI: Vision (2020)




Well guys the 2010's are over and gone and the 2020's are here!

Many apologies for the little hiatus I took from updates the past couple months but we are back at it in full swing!

 

Where will you be in a decade? - Ben's Thoughts


I definitely did not think I would be a missionary living off of support in New Zealand 10 years ago. Where will we all be in 10 years?


You might have it planned, go to school, graduate, take a gap year, work, get married....


The reality is we do not know what will happen in 10 years. I am sure that in 2010 someone was so excited to start up his new DVD rental business. Who knew that it would be obsolete before the decade was over.


In thinking of this 2 verses came to mind:

1. Matthew 6:34:

Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

2. Proverbs 16:9

In their hearts humans plan their course, but the LORD establishes their steps.


There is so much uncertainty in this world. But there is one who is certain. God is the one who never changes and never will change. He is the best investment we can sow into.


It made me think of the last time we were in the 20's, the 1920's. The decade marked by its parties and soaring stock markets. It made me realize that I don't want that.


If the 1920’s were dominated by greed and lavish living, then lets make the 2020’s dominated by generosity and living for more than just ourselves.


The 1920's ended in a great depression. What if the 2020's ended in revival?


Bible translators are saying that by the end of this decade there should be a bible translated into every language on earth! The amount of unreached people groups are getting smaller each day!


All this I like summed up by my dad's favorite quote:

“All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.” - J. R. R. Tolkien, The Fellowship Of The Ring

What will you decide to do with the time you have been given?


2019 Review


2019 was a full on year, but an amazing one.

My organization (YWAM Furnace NZ) has seen...

  • over 2,250 people hear the gospel for the first time!!

  • We had over 500 hours of worship and prayer from our community alone.

  • We had over 60 students come through our Discipleship Training School! Not to mention the other 5 courses that we run!

That is over 100 people who's lives have been altered forever by God.

100 people that will continue to spread the gospel wherever they go.

100 people that will shine the light of God into the darkness of the world.

100 people that will never be the same


Since being back I have been leading our communications team. We reach out to potential students and are the front line for communication to YWAM. I realized the full potential of this when people we called ended up in our community and are now going out into the nations. Because of one phone call there can be hundreds of lives forever changed for Jesus! Never underestimate the power of reaching out to someone.


In the past 3 weeks I alone have made over 100 calls to people that I have been able to reach out and encourage and hopefully shine the love of Jesus to.


What has been happening with me?


1. We went to Australia!

Our team from the School of Worship I was helping out with joined up with more members from our community to host a conference in Australia to teach people the importance of worship and prayer. We had sessions throughout the day with many speakers from around the world, had many worship times, and an all night prayer room! Our group was to help teams that signed up to take on slots of worship and prayer through the night were well equipped and knew how to go about doing it. I was also on worship teams for about 6 hours a day. Our team also lead prophecy rooms where people could sign up and come in and we would prophesy over them! We prophesied and prayed over hundreds of people a day!


2. I staffed my first school!

I have successfully staffed my first school with Youth With A Mission (YWAM)!!

The students have officially graduated and gone their respective ways. It was amazing, and difficult, and so so worth it! There were countless worship times in the three months, amazing holy spirit moments, and such breakthrough! I am beyond proud of our students and how far they have come. It truly was what the purpose of the school is and what my heart is for, raising prophetic worship warriors to send into the nations like flaming arrows. And now 4 of them are returning to do more training with us!


3. I was able to visit home!

Originally I was supposed to help lead the outreach to Japan, but in the end wasn’t able to raise the finances that I needed. It was hard to accept but I think God had good plans for me. I was able to visit home and that is where...


4. I got engaged!!

That's right people! As you have probably seen on social media I am now an engaged man! On January 8th, I was able to get down on one knee and asked the one and the only Amy McConnell to marry me. It was the best day and I am so excited to share the story with you all soon! Thats right! I am gonna make you all wait hahahaha!


What I have been working on is a complete overhaul of this website and blog posts as Amy and I prepare to merge our support groups and eventually share this site! It is all very exciting and I can’t wait to share it all with all of you!


The Proposal

With your help we were actually able to buy a car!! Neither of us thought that would ever happen!!
We got a car!!

We never thought we would ever be able to afford a car! but with your help we were able to do it! It is such a blessing to be able to even go grocery shopping when we need to!

0 comments
bottom of page