top of page
Blog: Blog2
Blog: Subscribe
Search

Ch. XV: perfect.



I am not perfect, and neither are you.


Romans 3:3-4

What if some were unfaithful? Will their unfaithfulness nullify God’s faithfulness?  Not at all!

Let God be true, and every human being a liar. As it is written:

“So that you may be proved right when you speak and prevail when you judge."


We can rejoice in our imperfections! Why? Because it makes God's perfection shine!


I don't know about all of you but I put the pressure on myself to be perfect. And because of that I put pressure on others to be perfect, using myself as the "model citizen".


I am not perfect.


I have been helping lead a School of Worship with my organization (YWAM) here in New Zealand for the past little while. Working closely with others in a team, disciplining others, and being a musician I put a lot of pressure on myself to not let others down, not let myself down, and not let God down.


I am not perfect.


This did not work, when we strive for perfection we are really striving for love and acceptance.

Either from others, from ourselves, or from God.


It is a beautiful thing to be imperfect! I quickly learned that I was not going to survive if I was in that striving mentality. I had to let go and trust in God's love for me and that the people around me loved me no matter what, and finally, accept myself for who God made me to be.


I am not perfect.


This does not mean I have an excuse to give up.

I will instead pursue excellence and not perfection. I want to give my best, but not expect myself to not mess up.


I try my best to stay in contact with all of you lovely people back home, but I am not perfect and sometimes forget a scheduled call. I will try my best and practice my instrument but I will not expect myself to be the best at it. I will try my best to give my everything to God, but sometimes I don't and that is okay.


God is perfect.


We can relax and let God be the perfect one. We are not God nor should we expect ourselves to be. All we can do is try to be a bit more Christlike.


Take comfort in the fact that you are not perfect. Because God is.


When I tried to be perfect and not let myself make mistakes I ended up burning out and not even being able to be excellent, perfection is not sustainable


I am still working on this in my own life, trying to take the weight off my shoulders and making sure I am not trying to be perfect. I am still learning that it is okay to mess up and make mistakes. But I know that God will love me no matter what!!


We are perfectly loved just as we are by a perfect God who knows our struggles!



 

Where have I been?


I realize it has been a couple months since my last update! At the end of October we officially started the quarter here at YWAM Furnace New Zealand! We have a Discipleship Training School with 22 students, a Transformation Development School with 4 students, and a School of Worship with 5 students!

I am helping lead the School of Worship and it has been awesome! The students have been learning about worship in missions, the life of king David, Jesus as the bridegroom, king and judge, and prophetic worship!

It has been super packed and busy and super awesome. I have been able to come alongside the students and disciple them and it has been very life giving.


Tomorrow us as a school will be leaving to go to Australia for a Prayer & Worship conference for a week. This will include seminars and sessions on the importance of prayer and worship and practicals on how to do it in a missional way. We will be running prophecy rooms and running 24/7 prayer and worship, being in charge throughout the night.


After that week we will come back to New Zealand to continue training and then in December we will be going on outreach! I will be leading the team alongside 2 others of a team of 7 total. And we are going to... JAPAN!! I am super excited to be going back to this nation and to be leading a group of amazing people to tell people about Jesus for the first time and bring worship over the country!


I have also become a member of a church!


Prayer Requests:

  • Pray for our week in Australia, for energy for everyone. For safe and easy travel, for God's presence to be with us.

  • For the rest of the school. For the students to keep growing deeper in God and breakthrough and for energy to keep going strong.

  • For finances for our outreach for Japan. I am still in need of finances to be able to go and to book tickets and things so pray for the release of those finances!

  • I have just submitted my next visa to be able to stay in New Zealand! Pray for favor with it and that it gets accepted quickly!


Thank you all so much! It is through your partnership that I am able to do what I do, in following Gods call to train and disciple people in worship! I love you all so much!


Till next time!


The School Of Worship!



0 comments
bottom of page