top of page
Blog: Blog2
Blog: Subscribe
Search

Chapter VI: The Aftermath

07/15/2018


 

📷

Hello and welcome to what is the sixth instalment of my Ben's updates! First off if you have an idea for a name for these updates that's maybe a bit cooler and more catchy than “Ben's Updates” I would love to hear them. I would also like feedback on the format of the updates, so if emailing a pdf is “so last year” let me know. If you have been reading along since the start or this is your first update welcome and without further adieu, let's begin!

📷

Chapter I: Stress

The week after graduation was definitely a high stress situation. My plan was to stay in New Zealand and travel, but due to some complications I would need to work for a bit first. It was looking like I had no plans, no vehicle, no place to stay, and limited funds. And the only thing left to do was to trust God. I was looking into getting a campervan so I could be cost efficient in a place to live and get around. The only one I could find I was set to look at on the last day I was allowed to stay at the school, and it was 3 hours away in Auckland, so if it didn't work out I was kinda screwed. I also needed to get a job so I could support myself now, pay for the van, and for further travels around New Zealand. I tried for so long looking for jobs to no avail. I did not know where I was supposed to go, I was looking for work all across new Zealand, unsure and dizzied at where God wanted me. I also wasn't sure where I would park the van, where I could sleep, how I would cook, shower, charge my phone. It was during this time that I was also dealing with sickness still from the Himalayas and it looked like a doctor bill was in the near future. Needless to say I was severely questioning whether I was supposed to stay in New Zealand at all.

Chapter II: Provision

Now for the fun part of how God provided for me.

The Campervan: as it turned out some of my friends were going to Auckland on the same day I needed to be there, so after catching a ride with them I got to see the van. The people selling the van were super nice and knew what they were talking about. They also gave it to me for much less than expected! Although I was also stressed if I could take out that much cash from overseas God followed through and it all went through almost without a hitch. There were many other details and miracles that happened with getting the van that I won't get into but I knew God was with me. That night I got to meet up with the rest of my friends and the next day drove back to Tauranga. 📷

The Job: I was looking for jobs all across New Zealand and not sure where God wanted me. I had one option that was way up north and seemed like an unstable job. I visited my cousin and his wife a few hours away and they blessed me with recommendations for places to apply for and a place to stay for a few nights (the van can get pretty cold at night). I then went back to tauranga, now with a couple of options to choose from. The chef at the school ended up giving me the name of his friend who just started a catering business in Tauranga, and I decided to check it out. As soon as I met him I knew this was where I would be staying. He loves Jesus and runs his business with integrity and was so generous to let me onboard for his business. That same day I was walking around town and happened that I had a CV on me and decided to stop by an outdoor gear retailer to drop it off not thinking much of it but the catering was causal only. I asked if they were hiring and they said they desperately needed people right away, interviewed me the next day and within a few days I had two jobs! God cemented the fact that He wanted me in Tauranga.📷

A Place To Stay: I still didn't know where to stay and living in a van on the side of the road turned out less desirable than expected. But within a few days and a series of events of which I'm not even sure what happened I have ended up staying at the house the staff for my school live, in my van but now have access to a kitchen, a bathroom, and best of all a loving community of awesome people. God has given me more than I ever expected or asked for.

Chapter III: The Present📷

Currently I am working part time at an outdoor retailer and part time volunteering at the prayer room at the YWAM Bethlehem base. For those of you who don't know the prayer room used to be the Tauranga House of Prayer, which is part of the international house of prayer. The focus of the international house of prayer is 24/7 worship and prayer to God. For more info about what it is head to https://www.thop.nz. It has been a great time to reflect on what I learned during my past school and focus on growing in intimacy with God and worshipping Him.

Chapter IV: The Future📷

Now for the plan for the future. So far the plan is to stay in New Zealand and work until September to raise money to go back to Youth With A Mission(YWAM) and do a School Of Worship. The school of worship would be from October till February, and I have felt like it's where God wants me and it has been confirmed by many people that it's what I should be doing. So I will trust in God that He will provide and has it all in control.

The AThat I will continue seeking God's presence in “normal” life

  • That I will have self discipline to be in the word every day, seek God and not get distracted.

  • For God to keep providing both now and for the future school of worship.

  • Pray for the community I am a part of at YWAM Bethlehem (Furnace NZ) that there will continue to be love and togetherness.

  • For health and safety, especially since it is winter here and a lot of sickness going around.

  • Pray against attacks from the enemy, as I have felt some since graduation and its dumb but God is stronger.

Thank You

As per usual I want to thank all of you. But do not see this as a shallow thanks, but as true gratitude. Hearing that people read this makes it worth it, it helps me feel some sense of home when it feels I've been gone too long, and helps me process all that's happened when I don't know what to think. So thank you all for being there, having my back, talking to me, and for all the love you give. And I thank you for the prayers you give as I continue to pray for each of you.

God is spirit, and his worshipers must worship in the Spirit and in truth.”

John 4:1‭, ‬24 NIVsk:

Okay so now time for the ask. I am starting fundraising for my school of worship now! I always thought it very strange to ask people for money but God has changed my heart to move past the pride (still uncomfortable though). The early church supported missionaries and I believe the same should be said of the church today. I am working part time and doing my best but I will need your help. I need about $4000 for the lecture phase of the school and $3,500 for the outreach section. No, it is not cheap but I wholeheartedly feel God telling me to do this, to use this school as a springboard into worship in missions. So please pray about it and if you feel led to give please email me, or send me a message so that I can give you information on how to do so. Thank you!

Prayer:

I wanted to thank all of you for the prayers. It hasn't always been easy in this journey and through your prayers I can feel the change. I know how much harder it would be if I didn't have you praying for me, so thank you so much. And here are some prayer points that I ask you would keep in mind as well.

0 comments
bottom of page