top of page
Blog: Blog2
Blog: Subscribe
Search

Chapter X: Land of the Rising Son


(Son = Jesus)

 

Announcement!

Heads up! I am coming home for a bit! Mark your calendars because I will be back in BC April 14th to June 2nd and would love to get connected with everyone. So let me know when you are free and we can meet up. Anyway without further adue, back to the update.

 

こんにちは (Kon'nichiwa) and Kia Ora! Welcome to the first update of the new year!

As you may know I have returned from 7 weeks in Japan! Incredible experiences, amazing people, and beautiful culture. We have definitely seen the move of God in Japan and are so grateful to be a part of what God is doing and will continue to do. In this update I'll do my best to sum up our time in Japan, what I'm doing currently, and let you know all the exciting things in store for the future.


J A P A N


PART ONE: OKINAWA

We started our journey traveling to Okinawa where we spent our first two weeks. The tropical Island was something completely unexpected for me. The way island culture mixed with Japanese and American culture was very unique. There we partnered with a local church called “Joy Chapel”, and joy is what we experienced. The pastors were so welcoming and kind, we felt at home right away. We were never without something to do, from youth programs, preschool programs, and even an outreach to a local high school. We also went to an international cultural festival at a university there. We were able to worship in front of a crowd of university students, bless people, and spread the gospel. We were amazingly blessed by God and the people there.


PART TWO: OSAKA

We had no plan for ten days in the middle of outreach until just before we left Okinawa and it became clear that the Lord wanted us in Osaka. We stayed at a YWAM base that was being pioneered there; and had the opportunity to join with a few different teams and local missionaries from around the world for a Christmas party. We gathered and just worshiped God in the heart of Japan's cultural capital with many different cultures represented. We also were able to visit a huge shinto (main Japanese religion) temple in Kyoto. It was an entire mountain dedicated to all different gods and we were able to pray, worship, and speak scripture into the heart of darkness. In a quiet and honouring way we took back ground for God's kingdom and the rightful inheritance of Jesus.


PART THREE: TOKYO

We then moved onto the final level, the capital city of Tokyo. There we stayed with a YWAM base on the outskirts of Tokyo a bit away from the main hustle and bustle of downtown. The base accepted us as family and we felt right at home. We joined with what the long term missionaries were already doing there and support and encourage them. We joined art evangelism, English classes, worship times, and intercession for the city and nation. It just felt so nice to be on the other side of the world and have a home with family.


PART THREE B: GUNMA

We were very blessed to be able to head out of the city into the mountains for a few days at the end of our time in Japan. We stayed at a bible home at what they call the ends of the earth, covered in huge amounts of white powdery snow. It was such a nice time to debrief all that God had done during our time in Japan and relax for a bit before getting back into things.


PART FOUR: TAURANGA, NZ

We then returned from Japan back to our base at YWAM Furnace in Tauranga, New Zealand. We spent the final weeks finishing our outreach locally. We led worship at a local church, evangelized, partnered with local ministries, and we also got to be a part of our bases album release night!

That's right, we have a whole album out! It's all original songs written by our own family at YWAM Furnace. It's on spotify and apple music so go give it a listen.

It's called ‘Worthy of it All’ by Furnace Worship. It's super fire so check it out.


FINAL CONSENSUS

In general this outreach has been very redeeming. I've learned that an outreach doesn't need to be just all work and no fun. But that you can have fun and not be pressured or discouraged. Even if we didn't see heaps of fruit in our ministry, I think the fruit was in our growth as a team. I also learned so much of the power that prayer and worship can have on a place and nation and the impact it truly makes. Jesus will have Japan!


STORY TIME

While in Tokyo we did a lot of street evangelism. We went out on the streets and people were quite receptive to the gospel, many not knowing who Jesus was or any idea of Christianity. While evangelizing I was able to fully share the gospel with people who have never heard the name of Jesus. We handed out cards that linked people to a Japanese website with the gospel and churches on it. And they actually responded to it that they were going to start going to church! They were so happy to have something to hope in again.


THE PRESENT

Where am I right now? Well it has been a long time since my last update but I have been trying to get this written out. I have just graduated from my School of Worship! I had the weekend to move on to the base here and now I'm enrolled in the leaders internship program until April and I am very excited for this season. For my personal growth, to know and love God more, and to get to know the people here! I really feel this is a time that God will be preparing me and solidifying my identity in him. A time where God is paving the rocks he has already placed.


THANK YOU

I wanted to say a special thank you. To everyone who has been praying for me, and to everyone who has been supporting me financially. I would not still be here if it was not for you. It is my privilege to serve the lord like I do and I am so thankful that he has placed you all here to support me in this.



THE FUTURE

After the Leaders Internship I will be heading home for a bit! I thought and prayed and felt God saying it was a good time to come back for a bit to rest and see people again before I head back to NZ. I’ll be In BC from April 14 to June 2nd so let me know if you’re around and want to get together I’d be keen!

Then in June I will come back to New Zealand where I will join YWAM Furnace staff for the next 3 years! This doesn’t mean I won’t be able to visit home for a bit or anything but that I am committed to staffing here until at least February 2022. I will have my priority be staffing the School of Worship that runs from October till February every year. If you would like to know more about what I am doing or how to help support me in it please contact me and let me know!


This has been my first update in a long time. My apologies for the delay I am going to try to be more diligent with my updates for the future, thank you for sticking around during this busy time.

Love you all and see you soon!



 


Worshiping in front of University students




Food was a perk of Japan



Christmas in Okinawa



Temple in Kyoto



the walk up the temple mountain


Downtown Tokyo


Art evangelism in Tokyo


Tokyo


Tiny car


Evangelism (not sure what it said probably Jesus loves you)


the team outside a university in Tokyo working with English programs





School of Worship Graduation




0 comments
bottom of page